You Don’t Have To Dry Out

We had fresh cornbread the other night with our supper. It was so good. I forgot to cover it and put it away so within the next day it became dry and hard. What started out tasty ended up being given to the birds.

Our faith and prayer life are like that cornbread. Things happen and first thing you know prayer is neglected. Faith hardens. Some people have even thrown their faith out because they forgot what prayer really is. It’s an ongoing relationship with the Lord, who keeps us soft and pliable and enjoyable. Many times I’ve been faced with the decision to keep trusting God and although sometimes it was hard, God always shows up in my mess, in my heartache, in my unanswered prayers, in my unwarranted troubles and stills my heart, holds me close and gives me fresh hope.

Oh beloved, don’t give up. Don’t give up on a thing. Don’t give up on God. Even today, when it’s been so long that you’ve been away from Him, He’s calling you by name. Don’t give up on prayer. Don’t think because things didn’t happen the way you wanted that God messed up or let you down. Don’t fall for the tricks of the enemy. He will tell you that God doesn’t answer prayer, doesn’t care about your aching heart and has left you out to dry up and be thrown away.

You are a jewel in the heart of the Father. Don’t allow the days of hardship to dry you out. Don’t stay away from the Lord. Let Him cover you and keep you soft and pliable. Don’t give away your hope. He was with you when bad things happened and He will be with you no matter what. Your destiny isn’t to live outside of your faith. Your destiny is to recover the flavor of your walk with the Lord and return to belief in and trust in and reliance in Him.

God loves you and He’s for you. Someone prayed for me when I was at my lowest. So this morning I am praying for you. I pray that out of the riches of the Lord, you will feel His presence like never before. That you will talk to Him about everything and let Him protect you, guide you and keep you all the days of your life. And I pray most of all that you will know how deep and wide and long His love for you is, as you live in faith and the light of His glory and grace.

Deuteronomy 31:8 The LORD is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you. He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.

Proverbs 28:14 Blessed is the one who always trembles before God, but whoever hardens their heart falls into trouble.

Psalm 31:22 In panic I cried out, “I am cut off from the LORD!” But you heard my cry for mercy and answered my call for help.

Psalm 51:10 Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

