Today

My parents had a lovely 75 year old home that we just loved. It was one of those 12 foot ceiling homes with huge windows and a wraparound porch. Although I have fond memories of it and have shared about it before, what comes to mind this morning are the changes that have been made to it. The original windows have been replaced with black metal windows. The wrap around porch now has a carport out front. It no longer looks like the home it was. If I could go back and live in that house we all loved it’s not there anymore. It’s been modernized and is hardly recognizable.  

Oh beloved, have you been dreaming of going back? Are you wishing that things could be the same? Do you want to fix something that’s long gone? It’s impossible to recover the past. The enemy knows this, but he loves for God’s children to long for what they cannot have. 

This morning God speaks and He says dear child, I AM that I AM. I was with you then and it was wonderful. But I AM not there anymore. Neither should you be. Memories are fine but they aren’t meant to hold you captive. What you need now is to focus on this day and seek to enjoy the blessings of the here and now. Regrets only cause you to live in misery. Wanting to go back only frustrates. But My plans for you are today. I have this day as a gift for you. I also have a future for you that is good. Lay aside the burdens of yesterday. You won’t find what you’re really looking for in the past. Enjoy the good memories but follow Me. Your calling is here and now. Your strength and wisdom and power are in this day. You are anointed for such a time as this.

God loves you and He’s for you. He has plans that are out of this world for you. If you will look away from the past and focus on Him, you will see how wonderful life really is. Christ died and rose again for your new life. Rejoice that you can live with blessings and honor in the Light of His plans for your life.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.

Psalm 118:24 This is the day which the LORD has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it!

Psalm 17:15 As for me, I shall behold Your face in righteousness; I will be satisfied with Your likeness when I awake.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

