Fireflies

For a month or so we had a lone firefly in our bedroom. At first he lit up a lot at night. It was bothersome but I could find him to dispose of his luminescent antics. Then he would only light up once or twice. One night he lit up right at the corner of the curtains. I had to get up and see if I could catch him. He didn’t light up again, so I turned on the bedroom overhead light and right where I’d seen the light flicker was a large spider! Now keep in mind, I don’t like spiders, at all. 

Danny is the spider killer and I’m the Spider! Screamer. I got my hairspray out of the bathroom and sprayed that joker right there. Once he was frozen by the shellac I managed to get him picked up and flushed away. I felt rather proud of myself because did I mention I don’t like spiders!

What struck me was if that firefly hadn’t been in our room, and if that firefly hadn’t blinked his light once, and if he hadn’t been right by the nemesis on the wall and if I had not gotten up to respond, I’d still have a spider loose in our bedroom!

God will even use fireflies to speak to our hearts. His Word is our light and it will shine on the dangers of life and point out right where our nemesis is. But we need to get up and respond so that he doesn’t stay loose in our lives. So too the Word illumines God’s truth for us – we are loved, we are protected and we are stronger than we know – we can face the worst and still make it.

Oh beloved, rest in His promises today. When He lights your way and He will, respond. He already knows what you’re going through. He even knows what the enemy is doing and where he is. So too He will light your way with the brightness of His character, His nature and His Word. You’ve been running around trying to get rid of the problem on your own. He says let Me light the way for you. You are strong enough to take care of things, but only as I lead you. Trying to fix something that isn’t yours to fix will only bring you frustration. When the pests of life are lit up by God’s Word your ability to dispose of His lies and tortures will come supernaturally to you. The sword of the Spirit, which is God’s Word, is your only weapon – use it wisely and use it often. Then sleep the rest of a believer, knowing you are safe and protected and strong enough for the next battle. 

God loves you and He’s for you. Nobody would believe I can kill spiders, but I can now. So too people will see your strengthening in the faith and be amazed. You will be amazed at yourself. But as you believe in who God says you are – strong, mighty, wise, powerful and able – you will be thankful for the things He brings your way. And you will dance in the Light and thrive in the Magnificent Power of the Only Living God always!

Psalm 119:105 Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path.

2 Peter 1:19 So we have the prophetic word made more sure, to which you do well to pay attention as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star arises in your hearts.

Ephesians 1:18 I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened, so that you will know what is the hope of His calling, what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints,

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

