Bigger Than Dallas

This Texas phrase came to mind yesterday morning as I was texting back and forth with a friend whose husband is in the hospital. I understand her pain and their concerns. I’ve been there. We’re about the same age. Looking forward to retirement and the “good life” when suddenly there is a sideswipe of gigantic proportions that enters the screen of life. Bigger Than Dallas! It’s huge, overwhelming and constricting. You try to find your breath and try to find someone or something to lean on until you can breathe again. 

As I hear the phrase “Bigger than Dallas” come to mind I hear God speak. This thing you are going through is indeed Bigger than Dallas, but beloved, I AM bigger than it all.
Oh beloved, your trouble is monumental both in scope and in the way it makes your mind reel and your heart race. But God is bigger than it all. He’s big enough to slay giants, heal diseases, change hearts, secure futures and more. He’s also big enough to carry you all the way through it. He’s big enough to give you a future and a hope in spite of the conditions of life. 

What God wants all of us to know is that He is the Great I AM. He is the Only Living God. That’s who we worship, that’s who we follow and that’s why we don’t have to keep our eyes on the troubles. That’s why we can confidently say the Lord is my Helper I will not fear. Either we are safe in His hands and lay down our burdens before Him. Or we have to work on everything ourselves, fix all our own problems and have enough positive “vibes” to stay upbeat through it all. I don’t know about you but I already know I’m not equipped to do life on my own. You beloved aren’t either. You’ve been created with a God sized hole that cannot be filled by any other means. And God has shown Himself as the huge Savior, Redeemer, King He is so that we who are slow to respond can see Him and respond. You’re not the sum of your problems, mistakes or regrets. You are precious in God’s sight and He loves you. You have the Savior of the world who gives you life and hope and promises because He lives you will have everlasting life. That’s the good life and it’s a gift from God who is bigger than anything in all creation. 

God loves you and He’s for you. Run to Him this morning and pour out your troubles to Him. Then thank Him for His truth working in your life. Thank Him that you are alive and therefore Hope abounds. You’re not going to be overcome by the world’s problems, you are the overcomer and you look beyond the bigger than Dallas troubles to the One who gives you a future and hope. Live and thrive in the Light of His Magnificent plan for your life.

Hebrews 13:6 So we take comfort and are encouraged and confidently say, “The Lord is my Helper [in time of need], I will not be afraid. What will man do to me?”

I Samuel 2:2 There is no one holy like the LORD, Indeed, there is no one besides You, Nor is there any rock like our God.

Psalm 91:1-2 Whoever goes to the Lord for safety, whoever remains under the protection of the Almighty, can say to Him, “You are my defender and protector. You are my God; in you I trust.”

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

