Miracles

You could say we have gotten a miracle. Early on I knew Danny wasn’t going to die, at least not yet. We were in the MRI room and it is in the basement. I stepped out into the hall while he was in the tube to get something – I don’t even remember now what it was. But as I opened the door there was a man with a gurney covered in dark maroon velvet with a funeral home name on it. Completely took my breath away because I knew why he was there. Sometimes God sends a sign to let you know what’s ahead, but this day I distinctly felt a strong message from Him “Oh no not today. This is not your end for this part of yours or Danny’s story”.  

When we got home I checked his breathing nightly. One night his arm was ice cold. Then I realized it was out from under the covers and we have it chilly in our room at night. Another night he was breathing so shallowly that I felt his chest until I knew he was breathing. And he patted me on the hand in his not quite awake state and said, “Yes I’m alive”. I don’t do that every night now, but I do relapse occasionally.
So I asked him what he would like me to do one recent morning. What special thing would he have me carry out for him. You know what he said? “Chill out.” The definition of that is to relax instead of worrying or feeling anxious. I think God spoke through my husband don’t you?

Oh beloved, God puts it another way in His Word. “Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” He wants you to know that He hasn’t left His throne. He is fully aware of whatever you are going through. He didn’t leave you out of His loop of tender loving care. He isn’t off in a distant land from which you hope He hears you and answers. And you and I beloved, we don’t have the days down that are ordained for us nor do we have the hairs of our loved ones numbered. But He does. Danny and I now have seen the valley of the shadow of death and some of you are seeing it too. But only God knows the when of our departures to heaven. Don’t we want to live in such a way that we don’t fear it nor worry about it? God says that we are His even to our old age and white hair, so we are really in the most magnificent position of all creation. Don’t wait another moment to read the book, hug the spouse, laugh a lot and rejoice in the Lord. 

God loves you and He’s for you. Father, we accept this love and care because You are with us everywhere we go. Whether we’re camping or vacationing or living in a hospital room. Whether we are in good health or having a rough illness, You are with us. You are HERE. Thank you for all that means and help us to “chill out” – to relax and let You be God. We give our problems to You because it’s Your problem not ours and only You can fix them, get us through them or take us home to Glory. We delight in Your Words as they alone bring life and light and joy and peace all the days of our lives.

Matthew 6:27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

Luke 10:41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord replied, “you are worried and upset about many things.”

Philippians 4:6-7 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

