What If God Only Lived At Church?

We spent an entire month in the hospital and rehab. Then we spent another month going to outpatient rehab every day as Danny was being healed. There was no opportunity to go to church. And yet I can say without a doubt I feel closer to the Lord right now than I did. He was with us every day, every hour, every minute. He showed Himself faithful and He went before us into each new day full of unknown territory. He sent believers to encourage us as well. I had awesome fellowship with the Lord and with people. One nurse who came in with an EKG machine left saying he would be back. He just wanted to come back and visit about the Lord some more. There were others who weren’t so sure about Jesus but they were sure they loved to hear about how much God loves them.

This morning as I sat here before the screen I heard these words “What if God only lived at Church?”

Oh beloved! Your life in Christ is so magnificent. He is with you always. He doesn’t appear for Sunday service and then retreat into His heavenly home for the other six days. You can count on Him always. You can call on Him anytime, anywhere. Yes, fellowship as believers is so very important. Find a church home where you can grow your faith and make friends in faith. But when you cannot get to church the Lord will have fellowship with you. He’s never late. He’s never absent. He’s always willing to talk things over with you in prayer. He’s also willing to reveal Himself to you through His Word. And He will send you help from His Sanctuary wherever you are. 

It’s time to say Lord, You are My certain Hope, You are the Anchor for my soul, You alone are my heart’s desire and I long for Your presence daily. Apart from You I can do nothing. Without You I’d surely fail. With You I can make leaps of faith, charge the enemy’s camp and stand strong in the winds of adversity. Lord, until You are my all in all I will keep seeking You throughout my week and seek You even more fervently in the weakest moments I go through.

God loves you and He’s for you. Isn’t it wonderful to know this relationship of faith, this salvation, this sanctification is a real ongoing fellowship? His love is everlasting so He is drawing you with lovingkindness and saying to you this day walk with Me and let Me lead you into greater faith. And rejoice as the Glory of the Lord rises on your everyday life and takes ordinary and makes it extraordinary for His Kingdom and in His power alone.

Jeremiah 31:3 The LORD appeared to him from afar, saying, “I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore I have drawn you with lovingkindness.”

Hebrews 6:19 This hope we have as an anchor of the soul, a hope both sure and steadfast and one which enters within the veil

Psalm 42:1 As the deer pants for the water brooks, So my soul pants for You, O God.

John 15:5 I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

