You’re Not Untethered

We are movie buffs. These days it’s our plan to find a movie worth watching. Between the bad language and the off color information and scenes we stop watching more movies than we watch through. Since Danny loves Sci-Fi and I love him we chose that genre. Two of our favorite actors were together in portrayal of two astronauts stuck in space and un-tethered to their ship. All manner of almost made it, but not quite scenes came at the watchers with ferocity. It was a hold your breath kind of show all the way through but in the end something good came out of it all. One of the astronauts made it home and found faith in something beyond herself when it was done.

I can relate. Can’t you? When Danny got sick I found myself un-tethered from all I knew in normal life. We have rarely been sick. Danny hadn’t spent a night in the hospital since he was 10 years old. Unfamiliar territory was everywhere I looked. Unfamiliar language took my breath away. I did not understand nor did I want to. But over and over I just put one foot in front of the other and one prayer after another. And in the end we are here at home and many good things have come out of it all. And I pray daily that more good things happen as well.

Oh beloved, God wants to remind you this morning that you can do it. He wants you to know that you are not alone. And even if you feel disconnected from all that’s familiar and normal you are never untethered from Him. He won’t let you go. You are never, as a child of God, floating randomly through life – getting hit by debris and hoping you survive. No God has a glorious outcome for you in spite of it all. Even if you mess up along the way you will not die. Heaven is your homeland and you will get there and you will live there forever. In the meantime you are being refashioned into someone you never thought you could be. You are stronger, wiser, and more able than you have ever known. Even the things you don’t understand or even want to know are no match for you. Filled with God’s Spirit, walking in His favor and hearing His Voice at critical moments are all part of the never ending story of His loving care for you. Your role in this endeavor is to lean completely on Jesus, walk in obedience to His Word and watch for the cues He gives you alone the way. You aren’t strong enough on your own to make it through any trial, especially the fiery ones. But God is going to give you strength just in time. You, beloved, are going to make it!

God loves you and He’s for you. Look to Him and forget what your mind plays tricks on you with. Rejoice in His favor even in trial and give thanks for His wonderful care as you live in the Light of His Glory and Grace.

Psalm 47:1 O clap your hands, all ye people; shout unto God with the voice of triumph!

Psalm 42:8 The LORD will command His lovingkindness in the daytime; And His song will be with me in the night, A prayer to the God of my life.

Proverbs 8:33 Listen to my instruction and be wise; do not disregard it.

Psalm 71:3 Be to me a rock of habitation to which I may continually come; You have given commandment to save me, For You are my rock and my fortress.

Colossians 2:3 In Him lie hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

