The Marks of a Godly Woman

One thing I enjoy is finding quotes that speak to my heart. Just like many women I collect them on Pinterest. I have a group of quotes on Christian women and on marriage. I refer to them occasionally and enjoy looking at what all I’ve “pinned”. I saw one that said “The Markings of a Godly Woman”.  

As I read through the list I hear God speak to my heart. Much of what the Lord sees as marks of a godly woman is different. He is looking for a heart that is completely His. 

Oh beloved, did you know? Have you heard? The Lord is kind and gracious and giving and merciful? When the dishes are stacked on the counter He’s not counting the plates. When the towels are on the bathroom floor He’s not writing a list of your flaws. When you have a hard time getting up in the morning He’s not standing there sternly commanding you to rise and put on a happy face. When everything seems to fall apart all around you He’s not commanding you to clean it up. He knows your weaknesses, your frame. The Word says He is mindful of us – that we are dust. Dust? He doesn’t do the white glove treatment on our window sills. He applies the cross to our hearts. 

All these things and more are ours to do. But the Lord is relationship minded. He’s looking for the heart condition. He loves good repenters. He loves it when we don’t beat ourselves up over our mistakes. He rejoices when we rely on His mercy for ourselves first and then for others. He hands out grace and He says “this is a get out of jail free card”. He knows we tend to put ourselves in jail over our missteps, our weaknesses and our sins. He knows how hard we are on ourselves. He knows our imperfections better than we do because we can’t hide a one of them from Him. 

And He says this morning I AM the Lord that heals you – of your past regrets, your future fears, your imperfect ways and your self-condemnation. I AM the Lord who loves you – just you, not your good works nor your best efforts. I AM the Lord who will lift you up out of the pit of pity, despair and tiredness. My plans for you include first and foremost developing a relationship – intimate, loving, free and secure. I AM the Friend that will stick closer than a brother. I AM not one who counts things against you – I AM the one who gives grace to help in time of need.

God always says I love you and I am for you. So precious one, He knows how much work there is to be done but He says to you today come away beloved, and let Me speak My love songs into your heart first. Then you will have strength for the rest of life’s journey. Rejoice dear heart that you are safe and secure and ready for the work He puts your hand to as you live in the Light of His steadfast and enduring love!

Hebrews 4:16 So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive His mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.

Hebrews 7:19 For the law never made anything perfect. But now we have confidence in a better hope, through which we draw near to God.

Psalm 103:3 He forgives all my sins and heals all my diseases. 

Philippians 4:16 I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

