To Have and To Hold

To Have and to Hold from this day forward…

When we said our vows at our wedding we were so ready to be married. I mean those vows were said with gusto! One of my friends remarked that she thought we should have cried or stumbled through them! But we were just absolutely so sure about it that night. Stormy weather and all we were ready to be joined in marriage. We’ve never looked back. Not that things have always been easy or all has been perfection. But for us God kept us together through thick and thin.

Oh beloved, this morning God wants you to know that He is your keeper and His vows for you go unbroken. When you said yes to Jesus and made Him Lord of your life He said I will have you and hold you from this day forward. He says I Am that I Am. I will never leave you or forsake you. He says even though you are prone to wander – through worry, fear, and busy-ness, I Am with you always. When you cannot hold things together He will hold you. He says even if you could not hold earthly things together like marriage – He will not quit on you. When all looks hopeless, He is your stalwart companion – to love, comfort, defend and provide. You will never go without a single provision because the vow of Christ on the Cross covered it all. He says He will provide all your needs – according to His riches in glory! In fact, it is through these hard lessons of life that He grows His beloved ones into stronger believers. 

 
He goes on to say even if you have walked away, He is calling you back to Himself. He goes on to encourage you not to wander. His plan is for you to grow in grace and knowledge of the Lord Jesus Christ so that when you have met with adversity or pain you will get closer and know Him better instead of running to find help elsewhere. This is your finest hour – to acknowledge Him as your husband, to know He will not walk out on you or cause you pain ever. 

God loves you and He’s for you! Rejoice with Him this morning! Run to His loving arms and thank Him for always being with you- as an Ever Present Help! Get to know Him better and let Him comfort you as no one else can. And walk within His blessing as you live in the Light of His Glory and Grace!

 Psalm 119:10 With all my heart I have sought You; Do not let me wander from Your commandments.

Isaiah 54:5 For your husband is your Maker, Whose name is the LORD of hosts; And your Redeemer is the Holy One of Israel, Who is called the God of all the earth.

Hosea 2:19 I will betroth you to Me forever; Yes, I will betroth you to Me in righteousness and in justice, In lovingkindness and in compassion

Isaiah 44:22 I have swept away your sins like a cloud. I have scattered your offenses like the morning mist. Oh, return to me, for I have paid the price to set you free.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

