Enjoy!

When we got married I must have had half a dozen songs sung before and during the ceremony. We also had communion together, partly because it was special for us and partly to drag out the whole event! I wanted it to be more than a quick run down the aisle a couple of I Do’s and over. I realize this morning I am still that way – I want the lovely things to last. We also open packages from under our tree one at a time. I love everyone watching the excitement and response of each and every gift. And again, it takes a while! I want the best things in life to last a good long while! Drag it out if you will but I love it! So apologies to all this Christmas Day, but I will try my best to drag things out and make the good times last.  

Danny and I both look back at other Christmases with fond remembrances. The old ways and the black and white view of life. We wish we could go back and have do-overs and make those old memories last as well. Don’t we all tend to look at the past as perfect? 

Oh beloved, as you look back at Christmases of yesteryear, allow them to warm your heart. But don’t give in to sorrow that things didn’t last or you can’t have that kind of day anymore. Step into today and enjoy it with all your heart. It’s really all you have. Yesterday’s celebrations are memories. Tomorrow’s celebrations aren’t guaranteed. This is what you have. It may be that childhood’s holidays look perfect in the backwards view. But nothing is perfect. This year’s Christmas won’t be completely perfect either. But you, beloved, have been given the secret to enjoying the best and forgetting the rest – you have Christ to oversee all your holy days and ordinary days together. He’s with you! He’s in you! He’s residing as the King of All. He’s presiding as the Inkeeper Extraordinaire – He’s saying there’s room! There’s room for thankfulness and joy. There’s room for whispers of prayers of thanksgiving. Right in the middle of the broken dish or the broken dreams God will make it wonderful for you! 
God’s love and tender care for you insure this holiday will be the best yet – full of promise, full of praise, full of peace. No matter how you celebrate or who you are with you can pour out the love and joy lavishly. You can thank Him for yesterday and hope for tomorrow, but be sure you enjoy this one with all your heart! And drag it out a little knowing that you are able to live in the Light of His Wonderful Birth!

Philippians 4:4 Always be full of joy in the Lord. I say it again–rejoice!

Luke 24:52 And they, after worshiping Him, returned to Jerusalem with great joy!

Psalm 30:11 You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

