Are We Ready to Rest?

A house full of grands last night was wonderful! Even our oldest came by to visit and watch a movie with us. The two youngest always fall asleep on the couch or in our arms. They are getting so big that I can no longer pick them up to carry them to bed. So the hubby and oldest granddaughter each carried a sleeping child to the bedroom. 

I heard feet and what do you know! One woke up in the move and insisted that he was watching the movie. He came back downstairs. He didn’t want to go to bed yet. Of course he went right back to sleep as soon as he got on the couch.

We’re like that aren’t we? God moves us and we pop up and say no! I didn’t want to move! I don’t want change. I’m not ready to rest. 

Oh beloved, it’s time to throw all your trust on the One who has carried you all your life. This God is the same God who planned your life before you were born. His plans are good and wonderful. His desire is that you fall asleep each night in His loving arms. He also wants you to rest wherever He takes you. You aren’t under the circumstances of any person, place or situation. Even when things look opposite of what you want God is with you. Jesus sealed your life on the cross and when He rose again you were given the opportunity to have a new life – one that is totally wrapped up in the Father, devoted to the Son and filled and guided by Holy Spirit. Regardless of direction He is taking you there is peace, joy and prosperity there. It’s not a good time to insist on your own way. It is folly to plan to live for Him later. It’s useless to think He doesn’t know what He’s doing or He hasn’t seen where you are. Always you are in His arms, always He is carrying you through, always He offers you His peace that passes all understanding to guard your heart and mind!

God loves you and He’s for you! No other name can do for you what He has done. No other source will satisfy you in the droughts and floods of life. Run to Him this morning and renew your vow to live in the Light of His plans for your life!

Isaiah 46:4 Even to your old age I will be the same, And even to your graying years I will bear you! I have done it, and I will carry you; And I will bear you and I will deliver you.

Deuteronomy 32:4 The Rock! His work is perfect, For all His ways are just; A God of faithfulness and without injustice, Righteous and upright is He.

Psalm 23:2-3 He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters. He restores my soul; He guides me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.

Psalm 31:14 But as for me, I trust in You, O LORD, I say, “You are my God.”

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

