God’s Promises Over Your Memories

The small chest in the corner of my living room is full of photos. Not just our photos but photos that once belonged to our parents. There are photos from the early 1900’s as well as newer pictures.  You could say that chest holds a record of our families and their adventures for over 100 years. Every once in a while I get the urge to go through those photos and look at the memories.  I can get that box out and reminisce any time I want to.

I am reminded that there are times when I look back and see the memories I wish I could change. If I keep looking at that I can get quite melancholy. I want to erase the mistakes and replace them with better outcomes. If I tarry there I will be full of sorrow and shame.

God speaks to my heart. I AM that I AM. I keep no record of your wrongs.

Oh beloved, why open the chest of memories and relive the pain of the past? God has never brought those things up to you nor does He keep track of your mistakes. His mercies are new every morning. So much so that if you had a box you’d never find it full of anything you’ve seen before. God’s box of memories about you is full of love, joy and victory! It’s time to live like a believer! Turn your back on the one who deceives you into believing your box is full of hopeless reminders of your sins. Not once does God bring up the past except to remind you how strong He is on your behalf and how strong you have been to overcome because of His Presence!  There’s no shame, there’s no condemnation, there’s no wishful thinking there. All you will ever see is God’s mercy and grace flowing beneath your feet to propel you forward in faith!

God loves you and He’s for you! Make the decision today to quit opening the box that you think contains bad stuff about you. Throw that box out and never refer to it again. Instead open the box of God’s promises often read what He says about you – no one who trusts in Him will ever be desolate because God says He will never leave you or forsake you.  Remind the enemy daily who you are in Christ. This is your destiny to quit looking back and quit condemning yourself about things you cannot change. God Himself will change your darkness into Light as you live in the present with wild hope and complete abandon walking in everything God says about you!

2 Corinthians 5:19 For God was in Christ, reconciling the world to himself, no longer counting people’s sins against them. And he gave us this wonderful message of reconciliation.

Romans 4:7-8 Oh, what joy for those whose disobedience is forgiven, whose sins are put out of sight. Yes, what joy for those whose record the LORD has cleared of sin.

Isaiah 43:25 I–yes, I alone–will blot out your sins for my own sake and will never think of them again.

Lamentations 3:22-23 The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, for His compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness!

 

 

 

 

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

