Fairytales or Reality Show?

Just stopped by Five Minute Friday to see what’s going on. Each week we gather at a prompt word and write for five minutes on the subject. I’ve really not had five minutes in the past couple of weeks but thought I’d check in and see if I could just jump in and start running again with the writers.

This week the message is about the value and power of Historical Fiction. So this week’s post is literacy related. I love HISTORY!  I should have been a history teacher! And literature! Oh my goodness!

I will confess that as a young born again wife and mother I had to curtail the fiction. You know reading becomes reality and it wasn’t good for me. Plus I’d read until I couldn’t hold my eyes open. Everything stopped for reading. It’s still true but now I spend more time reading healthy hunks of Biblical meat from awesome authors when I do get a chance to read.

Still here are some of my favorite historical books including some I read as a young girl and teenager. Hope you find something you enjoy. Then I will post a couple of books I adore for my spiritual life just because…

God loves you and He’s for you! Read all about Him in the Word of God!

 

http://www.jamesalexanderthom.com/river.html

 

 

 

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Girl_of_the_Limberlost

(p.s. there are more  modern copies at any retail bookstore)

 

 

KeysoftheKingdomcover.jpg                                https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Keys_of_the_Kingdom

 

 

 

List of very encouraging books for believers:

Oh Beloved! Live in the Light of His Word, Rebekah Beene

The Power of Praying…, Stormie Omartian books on prayer

Oh Lord I Want to Know You, Kay Arthur

Francis Frangipane books, any of them

Finally, from the Book of Books “Seek the LORD while He may be found; Call upon Him while He is near.”  Isaiah 55:6

 

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

