“I Feel…” (Tuesday @ 10)

Christmas is certainly an “I feel…” kind holiday. As women, especially, we feel the wonder of our children, the economy of our homes, the angst of our husbands and the desires of our own heart. These feelings can literally wear us out.  If we’re not careful we will spend the entire holiday season trying to sort out our feelings and pass right through the wonder and miss Jesus altogether.

I’ll tell you a secret. I feel things that aren’t always godly. That doesn’t mean they are evil. But here are some “I feel…” moments I have that maybe you can relate to. “I feel that I must be the best mother/grandmother/wife/daughter in the world.” There. It’s been said. It’s true isn’t it? That’s one of the weights we put around our own necks. Another one that surfaces occasionally: “I feel that I must make everyone happy” Ooh yes, you get it don’t you? Christmas is my womanly time to make everyone happy and if I don’t I’m missing it. Others that come to mind that either I have felt or others have shared, “I feel that if I was good enough my kids would grow up and be good enough.” Who is GOOD ENOUGH anyway? Did Jesus come to redeem the unredeemable?  “I feel…” that my feelings are more important than the truth. Sometimes we think if we feel sorrow we are sorry, if we feel discontentment we must be unhappy and if we feel pain we must be out of God’s will.

Oh beloved, let’s you and I cast off our weights around the neck and quit feeling guilty, wrong, overprotective, unable, etc. etc. and get on with life IN Christ! It’s time to celebrate the truth over feelings and let whatever we can’t fix just go. Everything goes to Jesus anyway, so why waste time feeling and fixing. Instead let’s fix our eyes on Jesus, the One who felt all our sorrows, fears and troubles and still agreed to Author and Perfect our faith! Rejoice as you live in the Truth of God’s Wonderful Glory & Grace!

John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.

Psalm 7:17 I will give thanks to the Lord according to His righteousness And will sing praise to the name of the Lord Most High.
Titus 3:5 He saved us, not on the basis of deeds which we have done in righteousness, but according to His mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewing by the Holy Spirit
Tuesday @ 10: http://www.findingthegracewithin.com/?p=13307

 

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

