Turn Around and Head for Higher Ground

Although the weather is now hot and it’s getting drier by the day, we had quite a wet spring. All the flooded roads reminded me of my own flooded road trip 30 years ago. My hairdresser lived on the other side of the Little Missouri River bottoms and I had a hair appointment. So I headed out in the pickup now knowing just how flooded those river bottoms were. I saw water across the fields and covering the small wooden bridge ahead. I was young and I knew I could drive through the water and over the bridge and then I would be fine. Except I didn’t anticipate the depth of the water and I really couldn’t see the bridge. I drove on. But once the water started coming through the doors of the truck I knew I was in trouble.

I had a choice to make. Keep going and hope I got through. Or turn around and get out of the mess I was in. I had no choice as my floorboards were filling with water quickly. Although I’m no mechanic I knew the truck’s tailpipe was submerged by now and that spelled trouble too. So I did what I could do – or rather I took the ONLY option I had left – I prayed. “Lord if you will just help me get out of this mess I won’t try something like this again.” I began backing up and finally got out of the water. Once on high ground I turned around and went home. Indeed I have never attempted that again.

Oh beloved, God is with you. Even if you are in a mess, even if it’s your own making, He’s with you. He is calling you in love to slow down and survey your surroundings. Check out your situation. Tell Him all about it. Don’t leave a single detail out. Tell Him everything. He already knows where you are and what kind of mess you are in. He is the Fixer of messes and the Redeemer of hard situations. If you panic, then stop a moment and recite the Truth, “I’m in a mess but God you are bigger than this and You love me. I need Your help!” Even if you don’t see instant help, Help is there. Because God doesn’t just send help, He is your HELP! God doesn’t just redeem things He is your Redeemer. It’s personal with God because He loves you He will always help you no matter what.

God loves you and He’s for you. Always! God is with you and helps you. Always! God knows your mistakes, your missteps and your wayward tendencies and still He calls you son/daughter. Even in the midst of our troubles He teaches us more about His great and unfailing love! He will always help you out of every situation as you call on His name and live in the Light of His Wonderful, Merciful Truth!

Deuteronomy 31:8 It is the Lord Who goes before you; He will [march] with you; He will not fail you or let you go or forsake you; [let there be no cowardice or flinching, but] fear not, neither become broken [in spirit—depressed, dismayed, and unnerved with alarm]. (AMP)

Psalm 18:6 But in my distress I cried out to the LORD; yes, I prayed to my God for help. He heard me from His sanctuary; my cry to Him reached His ears.

Psalm 31:22 In panic I cried out, “I am cut off from the LORD!” But You heard my cry for mercy and answered my call for help.

Psalm 130:3-4 If You, LORD, should mark iniquities, O Lord, who could stand? But there is forgiveness with You, That You may be feared.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

