Five Minute Friday- Fear

I know I wasn’t born with Fear, but it sure seemed like we were twins!  It all started with fear of the dark. Fear and I have never gotten along, but he kept hounding me, following me everywhere I went. Even as I grew older and married Fear went with me.

It wasn’t until much later that Fear finally had to leave my side.

I was riding the motorcycle with my hubby while vacationing through the Ozarks and on to Branson with friends. High mountains? Curvy roads? Vast scenes? Ugh, they all three brought Fear right to my throat! I felt near death experiences at every turn.

But this time was different. I heard the verse, “I sought the Lord and He delivered me from all my fears” come to mind. Psalm 34:4.  I spoke quietly to the Lord “Okay, Your Word says this so I am asking you once and for all to do just what your word says.”  I didn’t say a thing else. But as we rode I began to notice something. I could look out across the mountain vistas and not feel faint. I took curves calmly behind my precious husband. I laughed across the way to my friends who were riding with us.

I waited a few more minutes. Then I spoke into our headphones (we can hear one another through our helmet intercoms). “Danny. I just asked the Lord to deliver me from all my fears and I think He did!”  Of course, this precious hubby of mine – 40 years at that point – who had LIVED with this extra person of FEAR traveling with us everywhere – was ecstatic! “Praise the Lord” he continued, “About time!”

When FEAR leaves faith has more room!  Talk about freedom!  Freedom from Fear is the best thing in the world. Fear will keep you tangled up and tortured. But Freedom gives you wide open spaces to enjoy both in traveling and in life in general.

Oh beloved, Scriptures are alive! They do the work of God because they are the VERY WORD of God!  Next time you’re tempted to let FEAR take a ride with you, give Him a one two punch with the Scriptures and watch Him flee!

God loves you and He’s for you and He will indeed deliver you from all your fears!

Psalm 34:4 I prayed to the LORD, and He answered me. He freed me from all my fears.

Matthew 7:7 Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.

Psalm 23:6 Surely Your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the LORD forever.

Five Minute Friday

Come on over with me to Five Minute Friday http://katemotaung.com

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Minute Friday- Fear

  1. Christine says:

    What a wonderful testimony of God’s faithfulness Rebekah! I did chuckle at your hubby’s words…short and sweet 🙂 I also love your graphic, beautiful! Following you over at FMF today. Have a wonderful day!
    Christy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

