Before the Next Storm Hits

you are my hiding place you always fill my heart with songs of deliverance whenever I feel afraid I will trust in you

After all the storms of recent weeks people are talking about storm shelters a lot. One photo in the news showed that a family’s storm shelter literally heaved out of the ground during one tornado. Another lady was interviewed that their storm shelter was filled with water because of all the rain. People want to find a shelter that will do the trick. I never wanted to be in one of those things. Down in the ground, dark, dank and snaky! But given the tremendous force of storms and the incredible damage they do, I probably would choose one over a closet or being under a bed. I think if I could have one that was large and bright with flashlights galore that would be great. To be sure “any port in a storm” comes to mind – whenever someone is in grave danger they will take what they can find to be sheltered away until the storm passes.

Oh beloved. Where do you go when the threat of the enemy is real and the danger of giving up is imminent? You have a shelter in the storm! There is a place where you can go and rest until the threat passes by. He is the Lord and He is your only true shelter in life. You may have thought at times He wasn’t enough. You may have seen the danger, heard the roar of the enemy and felt His fierce breath on your face. At the last moment you chose to hide in the Shelter of the Most High. And God is truly enough – He is more than enough. His shelter is spacious and wonderful. You won’t “just barely make it” with God. You will come out of it all stronger, more confident and ready for anything. Life will have storms come and go – there’s no way to predict when one will hit your life. But all storms are powerless when you are in the secret place of the Most High. His promises are all true. His shelter walls are covered in His Word and His Spirit is stronger than the harshest winds of adversity that might try to blow through. With God as our Shelter we are hidden from the effects of the accuser’s tongue; we are sheltered from the assignment of the destroyer.

God loves you and He’s for you. Run quickly to His shelter. Learn to abide in Him now while the sun is shining and things are going well. You will be already conditioned to run to Him and live in the shadow of His loving care. Always rehearse God’s promises instead of the storm’s intensity. Others will see your testimony of faith and they will want what you have. God is real, His Spirit is with you forever, The Cross is your shelter marker and the empty tomb is your proof that storms will pass, and God promises to keep you sheltered as you live in the Light of His Glory and Grace!

Psalm 91:1-2 He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High Will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the LORD, “My refuge and my fortress, My God, in whom I trust!”

Psalm 32:7 You are my hiding place; You preserve me from trouble; You surround me with songs of deliverance. Selah.

Psalm 143:5 I remember the days of old. I ponder all Your great works and think about what You have done.

Psalm 31:20 You hide them in the secret place of Your presence from the conspiracies of man; You keep them secretly in a shelter from the strife of tongues.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

