Stormy Weather Calls for Your Shelter in a Storm

The stormy weather is all around us and has been most of the night. As I got up to get a drink of water after our phones sounded another flash flood warning in our county, we read reports that a nearby county was hit and heavily damaged by a tornado. We used to live in that county and have friends and family who still live there. We care because we participated in life there. Even as a child my family lived there and extended family as well. As I got older and married, Danny worked there and we were involved. Our family roots are in that town and county. We know it, so we can see the streets where the damage is being reported. We know where houses and schools and churches stand. When the light of day returns the scope of the damage will be truly revealed. But even in the night we know the town and the area, so we’re hurting and praying for all those there.

Oh beloved, you may have missed these storms overnight. But you may be in another type of storm. Sorrow, illness, rejection or pain may be bearing down on you. Flash floods of hurt may be roaring through your life. Things may be literally ransacked and uprooted and you may be trying to stay strong and not succumb to fear and anxiety. You may not know what’s happening, but there is One Who is over all and He is with you. He will carry you through the storms of life. He’s intimately acquainted with who you are, where you are and what you are going through. He has a vested interest in your life. He loves you. Christ went to the cross for you and He promised to carry you beyond the present turmoil and upheaval. Even in the night when you cannot see a thing, when you are unable to assess the damage and try to get your footing, God is clearing the way for you. He is protecting you and guiding you. He is watching over those you love as well. He’s not unaware nor is He uncaring even when bad things happen.

God loves you and He’s for you. When it looks the worst, He is there with you the strongest. Survival is not for the fittest, but strength does come to those who look to Him. The damage around you may be serious, but He’s your strong Ally and faithful Guardian no matter what. Run to Him this morning and settle into the cover of His loving care. Goodness and faithfulness are following you even now. And you can be assured that you can dwell in His presence all the days of your life as you live in the Light of His protective loving care.

Deuteronomy 31:8 “The LORD is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you. He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

Exodus 33:14 And He said, “My presence shall go with you, and I will give you rest.”

Psalm 23:4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

Psalm 13:5 But I have trusted in Your lovingkindness; My heart shall rejoice in Your salvation.

Nahum 1:7 The Lord is good, a stronghold in the day of trouble, and He knows those who take refuge in Him.

Psalm 16:8 I have set the LORD continually before me; Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

Psalm 59:16 But as for me, I shall sing of Your strength; Yes, I shall joyfully sing of Your lovingkindness in the morning, For You have been my stronghold And a refuge in the day of my distress.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

