Perfection is an Illusion

Both our daughters are busy moms. They have kids and a house to maintain. And a husband. And laundry and housekeeping and a bathroom and a yard. They give more than they get. They’re up earlier and stay up later. The clothes will not fold themselves nor will the shoes find themselves. I’m proud that I taught them to pray about anything at an early age. “Dear Lord, we really need to find…” I also taught them to command attention. “Everybody just hush up a minute!” And then of course I taught them when to talk and when not to. “Don’t ask me to go do something when I’m taking a nap. What I say doesn’t count when I’m asleep”. I also taught all my children to fear the river we lived near at the time. “Don’t you EVER go down to the river.” Not too long ago I found out they ALL went down to the river. probably when I was taking a nap.

Why am I saying all this? Because it’s mother’s day weekend and I am chief of the imperfect mothers. I didn’t get it all right. And I’ve kicked myself more times than anyone wants to know because I wasn’t perfect. I yelled sometimes, I cried sometimes and I fought with them. But I always hollered to heaven on their behalf. I cried over them with such longing for their lives to be so wonderful in Christ. And I fought for them. In prayer, in the Spirit and in the flesh.

This morning God speaks to my heart and He says perfection is an illusion. We only see as perfect that which we love. And I love you. And I love your daughters who are mothers. Real, lasting perfection only comes through Christ.

Oh beloved, it’s Mother’s Day weekend and here we all are. A loplolly palooza mish mash of women who call ourselves Mother. You are one of the team of the greatest workers on the planet. You are surviving or have survived motherhood – something that began with the word LABOR. You deserve a plaque, a medal, an armful of roses and so much more. I hope you get that and more. Because your imperfections just allowed you to love and grant mercy to even the ones of your brood who continually stepped out of line, wouldn’t tow the mark and couldn’t seem to get their head on straight. We’re not supposed to be perfect. We’re called to love and cherish and that we do well. Jesus will and has taken care of everything else.

God loves you and He’s for you. He took care of His own mother and He will take care of you. And your entire family – every single one of them, even if there’s only one. Whether they are 2 or 20 or 40 or… He’s in the caretaking business. And He thinks mothers like you and I are to die for! Don’t worry – His strength has been being perfected in the weaknesses of mothers throughout history. And one day, when Christ shall come, you will get to see just a glimpse of it all and you will find that you didn’t do everything wrong after all. Aren’t we glad? Rejoice and live loved and share that love as you live in the Light of His mercy and grace!

Galatians 6:9 And let us not grow weary in well doing, for in due season we will reap if we faint not.

Philippians 3:13-14 No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

Psalm 5:11 But let all who take refuge in You rejoice; let them sing joyful praises forever. Spread Your protection over them, that all who love Your name may be filled with joy.

Psalm 46:5 God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day. NIV

Psalm 5:12 For You bless the godly, O Lord; You surround them with Your shield of love.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

