It’s the Real Thing!

I remember the hippie commercial of the late 60’s where the group of flower haired folks was singing, “It’s the Real Thing!”  All about a coca cola. At the same time the country was beginning to get rid of what truly was and is the real thing.

The idea that real is subjective just doesn’t make sense. I had an imaginary friend for a while as a child and even though I could picture her in my mind and she had a name, there was no reality in that “person”. Turns out smart kids like me who have no same age siblings often make up siblings for fellowship.  Another time I remember seeing the Easter Bunny hopping down my street.  Again, just a figment of my imagination. And I had a huge imagination as a child!

I’ve lived long enough to know that most things we chase after aren’t real. Nor are they needful. But there is One Who is absolutely real and He has proved Himself over and over. From the time I was 26 years old and Christ found me to now getting closer and closer to 60 years old – not one time in all these years has He proven to be “un”real.

Oh beloved, you are so precious to the One True God.  He knows you and He has a wonderful plan for your life. People may have told you things about yourself that aren’t real – unkind, untrue, unloving and unfair. You may have talked yourself into believing things that aren’t real about yourself as well.

God loves you and He’s for you. Cling to the REAL Savior and live in the light of His glory and grace. Everything else – all the falsehoods, fakes and half truths – will melt away as you trust in His reality for your every day living today and always!

Can people make their own gods? These are not real gods at all!
For you died to this life, and your real life is hidden with Christ in God.
We know what real love is because Jesus gave up his life for us. So we also ought to give up our lives for our brothers and sisters.
And this I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in real knowledge and all discernment
About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s the Real Thing!

  1. E Wright says:

    Thanks for your perspective correcting post, Rebekah. I appreciate the caring that is conveyed in your words. Thanks also for the Scripture verses you shared. Visiting from FMF.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

