Get Rid of that Brokenness

This morning as I awaken I think about the broken cup that sits in my cupboard at home. It was one of my favorite mugs because my oldest daughter gave it to me. I asked Danny to try to glue it back together. He did it, but the cracks still show. The word peace was engraved across it and that word has a huge crack right through it. It’s unusable for the purpose it was made for. It’s not worth having out for anyone to see and it sure isn’t usable. Yet I have kept it. I open the cabinet door to get something out of the top shelf and every so often I see it there. Broken, unusable and yet I’m holding onto it.

Things in our lives get broken.   We try to glue it all back together. We want to hold on to it. It’s had to let go of something that meant so much to us. It was a gift to us and we want to keep our gifts! Even in the brokenness we want to hang on to the pieces. We can’t use it anymore. Even in the pain we keep it hidden away on a shelf. Occasionally we see it again back in the recess of our mind. We take it out and examine it and if someone’s around we might start talking about it. Pretty soon we feel all the original pain of that brokenness. If all I have are bad memories of that broken placed in my life than I need to get with God and be rid of it once and for all. Even if He gave me the gift of that relationship or ministry or love, if its useful days are gone, I need to get it out. Each time I open the door of my heart the gaping memory of that broken place in my life jumps out I’m still reminiscing about the pain.

Oh beloved, that broken thing you asked God to repair for you – don’t you think it’s time to let God discard it entirely from your heart? It’s past time to quit pulling it out and examining every broken spot. God knows it was one of your favorites. He knows you felt good as you were in that situation. He knows it brought you joy and pleasure and that it was useful for your life. But that was then, this is now and it’s broken. Rehearsing every break won’t make it well. Discussing the one who broke it won’t help either. Their part in breaking the thing you loved doesn’t help you at all. It is hurtful to your heart. It will keep you focused on the broken thing and render you unable to receive the new that God is bringing your way. Even if the break came at the hand of another, God was there when it happened. He doesn’t like to repair the surface of a problem, He wants to rid you of it entirely so the new can come! Open the door of your heart and let God take it out and be done with it once and for all. Even in the pain of the truth of it being gone, you will feel release because there’s now room for God to do a new thing. It is in the new thing that God brings you to that you will find fresh joy and usefulness. In rehearsing the broken thing, you will only find more pain and more brokenness.

God loves you and He’s for you. Because of this great love He has for you, you can trust God as you clean out your heart, beloved. God needs the room to do that new thing! This will bring you to a place you’ve never been with Him! New fresh anointing is on the way! A whole new shipment of God’s fresh, new life in you is arriving! Let Him do what He needs to do, repent of any area of your life that is holding unforgiveness for anything, let what’s broken be done away with once and for all and get ready! You are going to shine in the Light of God’s mercy and grace as He brings freshness and newness into your life. It’s a good thing God wants to do in your life. His life in you will shine for others to see. All is worth it, even what got broken. Go with Him and watch as your life becomes a living showcase of His redemptive glory and incredible grace!

Isaiah 43:19 For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.

Isaiah 42:9 “Behold, the former things have come to pass, Now I declare new things; Before they spring forth I proclaim them to you.”

Psalm 23:5 You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies. You honor me by anointing my head with oil. My cup overflows with blessings.

Psalm 40:3 He has given me a new song to sing, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see what he has done and be amazed. They will put their trust in the LORD.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

