Are Things Getting Uncomfortable for You?

One of our daughters cleans houses for people. She’s really good at getting it done efficiently and clean as a whistle. I admire her. When it comes to housekeeping I’m not perfect. I want a neat and tidy house with a place for everything and everything in its place. Try as I might it doesn’t always happen that way. Occasionally I try to focus in on perfect. I love keeping my house in order, but I have to be careful not to let housekeeping order me.

So too I like my life in order. I like building cozy safe things into my life. I want it all to be comfortable and in order. I want perfect plans that keep working out perfectly. If I’m not careful I’ll find myself unhappy because things don’t stay the same. Can you relate?

God has other plans. He doesn’t build us a nice neat nest of comfort where we get to stay cozied away. No He builds us an eagle’s nest. There are times when the downy feathers of His tender loving care hold us quietly and safely away. But we can’t stay there. He begins to pull out those feathers and expose the hard sticks underneath. We find ourselves uncomfortable and we must move or stay uncomfortable. I want safety, God says I AM your safety. I want sameness, God says I AM the same always. I want permanent connections, God says I will keep you connected to Me. I want routine, God says I AM unchanging.

Oh beloved, God may be calling you out. He’s made things uncomfortable for you. Not for your hurt, but for His glory! Let go of anything that is holding you down. Whatever it is, hold all things loosely. He who has called you is able to take care of the details of your life isn’t He? He is calling you out of mundane safety and into His supernatural plans. He is calling you this morning to let go. Let go of the limbs that are holding you. Let go of the plans that are frustrating you. Let go of the things that you want to control, because God wants to give you a blessed life. His ministry for you begins and ends in trusting Him for it all. You will not fall when you let go to His will. You will not find disaster when your plans are released. You will not cease to live when you live for Christ.

God loves you and He’s for you. Trust Him and ask Him to pull out the downy feathers of safe living and take off for parts unknown as He leads you to His glorious living the Spirit filled, Spirit led life. This is the best life ever to live in the Light of His Glory and grace, knowing that He is able to accomplish through you His will and His plans.

Luke 10:42 “There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.”

Psalm 73:28 But as for me, how good it is to be near God! I have made the Sovereign LORD my shelter, and I will tell everyone about the wonderful things You do.

Psalm 90:17 And may the Lord our God show us His approval and make our efforts successful. Yes, make our efforts successful!

Psalm 143:10 Teach me to do Your will, for You are my God. May Your gracious Spirit lead me forward on a firm footing.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are Things Getting Uncomfortable for You?

  1. I learned early that nothing is safe, nothing is dependable…except God, and He sometimes will seem to be absent, expecting me to fulfill my duties on my own. He trusts me to do that, which is pretty awesome.

    Right now – yes, I am uncomfortable, because I’m in more physical pain than I can describe, and it’s only going to get worse as illness progresses. I feel so alone sometimes!

    But I’m not alone, because duty and faith are my companions, and as they will not fail me, I will not fail them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Arthur, Patricia says:

    Thank you, Rebekah…I needed to hear this!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

