Tuesday at Ten – the Word is Peace

The hippies of the 60’s cried for it .

Our founding fathers fought for it.

Mothers shout at their kids about it.

Each group looking for peace THEIR WAY. Hippies wanted out of the “system.”  The founding fathers had to fight their way to peace. Mothers need alone time, feeling sure that’s where they will get their peace.

And here our blog hostess is facing the passing of her mother. I know from experience that there is PEACE that comes with the passing of a saint who has suffered long enough. But I also now the longing for the very mother who might have been deserving of the promotion to heaven.  Even so, peace comes in spite of the loss – I still miss my mother but I no longer cry for her as I did in the beginning.

So how do we keep and maintain peace in spite of life? In spite of the bad news, rejection, disappointments, fights, wars, rebellions and more. Life is less than peaceful most of the time. But we NEED peace! To regulate our hearts and our minds.

Wars don’t really make lasting peace. Getting away from it all still requires a return to the chaos. Insisting on leaving the status quo won’t really help.

There’s nowhere to look but to the Word of God. So we look beyond ourselves, our situations, our problems and our desires to get away and look to the Lord:

In peace I will both lie down and sleep, For You alone, O Lord, make me to dwell in safety.
    It’s possible to have peace – real and lasting peace!
Depart from evil and do good; Seek peace and pursue it.
  Instead of chasing dreams and leaving our responsibilities we can go after peace!
He will redeem my soul in peace from the battle which is against me, For they are many who strive with me.
  We can have peace in spite of what’s going on!
Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.
   Real peace comes from Christ!
And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
   God’s peace overcomes our finite human thinking!
And a final word, Oh beloved, here is my prayer for you this very day in spite of anything and everything you are going through:
May mercy and peace and love be multiplied to you.

Join me every day on facebook or my blog at https://rebekahbeene.wordpress.com as we seek God’s answers for life’s daily grind. 🙂

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tuesday at Ten – the Word is Peace

  1. iwillbloom says:

    Thank you for your post, which I loved reading. (Headed over from Tuesdays at Ten)

    Like

  2. Thank you, Rebekah – this is a wise and beautiful post. No place to go but eternal Truth in God’s word, for sure… stopping by from Tuesdays at Ten. Be blessed!

    Like

  3. Barbara says:

    Thank you for sharing your take on “Peace”; I too lost my mother, just over 2 years ago; and no, it isn’t easy…I still cry when I remember things we did together…but I KNOW – without a shadow of a doubt – where she is…and it brings Peace to my heart and soul, knowing she is with my father; she is with her sister and brother-in-law; she is with her mother whom she never met…she is with so many other saints that went before her.

    And as we help our friend Karen Beth, newly in the midst of grief at the loss of her mother, we can share with our prayers and our words of comfort, our hugs (or cyber hugs).

    I’ve been at this computer way too long today – and may not be making any sense; but my thoughts and prayers and hugs go out to Karen Beth and her family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

