Slow Down & Check in With God

As I was driving into town the other day I noticed that the car had a bit of hesitation. It felt strange. I’d speed up and it would hold back. I couldn’t figure out what was wrong. What was giving this hesitation? I was prepared to pull over and read the owner’s manual. And I was going to call on my chief mechanic (my hubby). Finally I thought to look at the gear nob. I was in B instead of D. B is for Braking and it’s a gear you use when descending steep grades to help you keep your brakes from failing. I quickly pulled over and stopped. Then I slipped it over to D and all the hesitation was gone. But I had to pull over and get things right. I was glad to know that the B drive, internal braking system worked.

Oh beloved, maybe you’re feeling a hesitation in your spirit. You wonder why you can’t seem to travel full speed ahead. Did you forget something? Have you thought that maybe God is holding you back and putting the brakes on for you? Could you have forgotten to include Him in your full steam ahead plans? God wants the absolute best for you. That’s why it’s important to look to Him and make sure you know He’s with you. Pull over and spend time with Him if you need to. It’s more important to get to His destination in the Spirit. The safest way to drive daily is to let God do the leading. He won’t refuse you a grand life because His will is the best life! You can trust Him, especially when He tries to put the brakes on your life. Descending into your own will brings danger. He won’t let you fail if you give Him your day, your plans and your entire life. The final destination is secure. But living a life with Him in charge of everyday plans and purposes makes for an awesome memory. God knows that you may feel like you’re behind others, left out of the race or just tired of going His way. Pull over and pull out the Owner’s manual – the Word of God – and see what He says.

God loves you and He’s for you. You can thank Him for slowing you down when there’s danger ahead or you want to have your way. His Word is your best guide and prayer is your instant access to the One who created you for His glory and purpose. Don’t fret if you’re not getting there quick enough. He’s watching over you, guiding you and keeping you safe in all kinds of life situations. Thank Him for His abundant grace and mercy that He doesn’t let you go but keeps you close to Him. He is faithful and His Word will never let you strip your gears or lose your way.

Psalm 121:7 – 8 The LORD will keep you from all harm—He will watch over your life. The LORD will guard your going out and your coming in From this time forth and forever.

1 Chronicles 29:11 Yours, LORD, is the greatness and the power and the glory and the majesty and the splendor, for everything in heaven and earth is Yours. Yours, LORD, is the kingdom; You are exalted as head over all.

Isaiah 48:17 This is what the LORD says– your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: “I am the LORD your God, who teaches you what is best for you, who directs you in the way you should go.

Psalm 32:8 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with My loving eye on you. NIV

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

