Five Minute Friday With Kate – STILL

Five Minute Friday, dear Kate, gives us more time than Friday to put our thoughts into words to share. STILL I consider myself late for this writing date. And still I hear the Lord speaking in spite of my hurried lateness.

When I went to work full time the first thing that happened noticeably was my inability to slow down and enjoy simple things. I always felt like I was in a hurry. I am learning to fight that urgency that’s not really urgent at all. But I laugh as I think about the Word Still. “Can’t you hurry up and be still?” I’ve said to my kids. “Why are you fanning the covers? Be STILL!” I’ve cried out to my hubby on a cold winter night. I can remember one grandson being stung by fire ants and his mother telling him to “Be still!” so she could remove all the ants without him continuing to be stung.

Still and Hurry seem to be the tug of war kings. God says hurry sometimes. He really does. To Lot the angels of the Lord said, “Hurry!”  To Sarai, Abram said “hurry” to make food for the unknown visitors. The Psalmist often asked God to hurry, especially when in desperate need.

And yet, God says “Be Still and know that I AM God.”  Slow down and get to know Me is what He’s saying. Rest in My Presence. If we remain hurried and frantic how will we ever hear His “still small voice”?

Oh beloved it’s Monday and that often rhymes with hurry. Don’t run off and forget to be STILL before the Lord. He still loves you. He still has plans for you. He still wants fellowship with you. And none of that will happen if we don’t get still will it?

Enjoy the week, enjoy your life and don’t forget to hurry up and Be Still in the Presence of the one who knows you perfectly and loves you best!

Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world.”

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Minute Friday With Kate – STILL

  1. Thanks for the reminder to slow down and be still. I’m also late to the FMF party this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

