Tuesdays at Ten – Humility? You Bet!

Earlier I wrote a lovely missive on Tuesdays at Ten with the Word Gather. I liked it. It made me misty eyed as well as happy for pleasant memories.

The only problem was I had clicked on a link from August 2014!  No way? Yes way!

So Humility is the real word for this Tuesday. I’m feeling a little humiliated, but since the word is Humility, I’m going with it.

As I think about my humiliating experience, I realize that it’s not all bad. A simple slip of gratitude that there’s something to learn here makes for humility. I’m going to press on to do the correct thing even after the big mistake.

I could have deleted the whole wrong word message. I could have covered up my mess. I could have concentrated on MY needs. But someone might just need to know about Gather. That they can indeed Gather God’s promises and keep them.

What is real Humility and what does it do for us?

  • Submitting to God and legitimate authority – this is especially important for as I submit to God as my legitimate authority I find I don’t have the desire to bristle at other authority, especially when I might not like what that means. 
  • Recognizing virtues and talents that others possess, particularly those that surpass one’s own, and giving due honor and, when required, obedience. The writing experience can be very competitive, but as I recognize the talents of other writers I find that I am strangely free to enjoy the blessings of my own writing even better.
  • Recognizing the limits of one’s talents, ability, or authority; and, not reaching for what is beyond one’s grasp. Humility brings peace and contentment. I am who I am by the grace of God. I cannot be C.S. Lewis or Kay Arthur. But I can be the best me that God has intended me to be. I can like my own skin and live with His blessings. 

Precious one, don’t balk at humility. Take it in and live it out for Christ Himself was humble all the way to the cross.  What better picture of humility can we find than our Savior and King.

“Have this attitude in yourselves which was also in Christ Jesus…Being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.”  Philippians 2:5,8

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuesdays at Ten – Humility? You Bet!

  1. Hopeannfaith says:

    I love this … Humility in the moment! I’m so glad you left up your post on Gather … for me I believe that God wanted you to post that for someone! Thank you for your obedience and your precious humility to leave the post and to continue on to school us on the immediacy of humility while in the midst of the struggle! Awesome.
    Blessings to you!
    Andrea

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

