You’re On a Trek Across Your World

heights

Last night we watched a show we’ve not watched before. We do love Bear Grylls and on this episode he took Deion Sanders, former Dallas Cowboys quarterback, on a trek across Utah’s canyons. The problem is that Deion Sanders has an issue with heights. I can relate. I remember still the enormity of traveling through that area. And I didn’t try to climb any mountains at all. Deion followed Bear through some nerve wracking, gut wrenching situations. Deion wanted to turn back, quit, take another route.

On the final leg of the trip, scaling the extreme heights to position themselves in the right place to be picked up by a helicopter, both men had to take a literal leap of faith across a steep chasm. Deion prayed. Out loud. He and Bear shared their faith, out loud. At the last moment Bear made this statement to Deion, “You know what to do. Pray. Take that leap of faith.”

Sure it’s just a TV show, but when we see people showcasing their faith and overcoming their fears and terrors, we find ourselves strengthened for our own journey.

Oh beloved, you may not be on national tv but you are on a trek across the world. Your world may not go many miles as far as geography is concerned, but you’ve got places to go that only faith will take you. God has spoken and you are now faced with the mountain that He has declared you can go over. Don’t look to quitters for help. Don’t look to those who say it can’t be done. Your destiny lies beyond the spot on the map and the height of the mountains you must cross. Prayer is the bedrock of your footsteps. Faith is the wind beneath you as you leap for the next spot. You are stronger than you feel, bolder than you look and more faithful than you realize. You are invincible in the Spirit and more than able to go where God sends you. In and of yourself it’s impossible indeed. But with Christ’s encouragement, you can go for it, leap that mountain, scale that adversity and move on to overcoming faith!

God loves you and He’s for you. He won’t lead you where He can’t get you through. He won’t ask anything of you that is impossible with Him. And once you’ve traversed this episode of life and done what you didn’t think you could do, you will be blessed with more power, more faith and more strength to continue this journey as you live in the Light of His Word.

Habakkuk 3:19 The Sovereign LORD is my strength! He makes me as surefooted as a deer, able to tread upon the heights.

Psalm 18:29 In Your strength I can crush an army; with my God I can scale any wall.

Psalm 28:7 The LORD is my strength and shield. I trust Him with all my heart. He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy. I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.

Psalm 56:3 When I am afraid, I will put my trust in You.

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You’re On a Trek Across Your World

  1. Kari Scare says:

    Very inspirational, Rebekah. I like how you took the TV show and a very flamboyant person and connected it with a solid life lesson for your readers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

