In Hot Water? Time to Make Tea!

Everyday Joy - Teacup with Lid image

As I was looking through a blog’s gift page, I noticed there was a printable gift idea called Scripture Tea Bags. Intrigued I had to look further. Sure enough there was a printable page of tags to put on tea bags, along with how to make loose leaf tea into bags with coffee filters.

Scripture Tea bags – for when you find yourself in hot water is what I am thinking. I don’t know about you but I get into hot water. I occasionally get in hot water up to my neck. This age old idiom simply means you’re in a difficult situation in which you think you are likely to get punished. I may be the only one who feels this way, but first thing I think when things get rough and I find myself in hot water is, “Lord what have I done wrong?” Can you relate? Tough situations come and we want to know what we did to get into this mess, so maybe we can figure out how to get out of it.

What does God say when we’re in hot water? I know when I’m through panicking and shedding a tear or two and feeling frantic and I let out a big sigh. I hear the still small voice. I read the scripture on the tea bag. I hear “Be still and know that I AM God.”  I let God make me a cup of Scripture tea. His Word, the words I have been reading and pondering and learning come back into focus as I stop and listen. I let what I’ve stored up like tea bags be applied to my hot water situation and drink and drink and drink. Until I have real peace, you know, the kind that passes all understanding.

Oh beloved, are you in hot water today? Are you in over your head with situations of life that are so hot you don’t know how to deal with them? Maybe you caused this situation yourself; maybe someone else put you square in the teacup and poured the troubles on you. You’ve taken a guilt trip and are diving into the deep end of pity, fear, loathing and shame. It’s time to make a cup of Scripture tea and let God serve it to you. He speaks to His beloved, even when they’re in a mess. Especially when they are in a mess.  You are not in a situation that warrants your condemnation, for you are God’s own prized possession. When He speaks to you He speaks love songs and encouragement. Every single cup from God is filled with the sweetness of His love. You may have to drink down pride or put aside your own concoction of answers. And you will need to quietly wait to hear from Him. But He’s with you and He’s working everything out for your good and His glory. His Word is never hard to swallow for it’s full of Himself. And Jesus drank from the bitter cup so that you and I can freely drink of all that He made atonement for, including our hot water situations.

God loves you and He’s for you. Listen right now, in your oh so hot water. Let Him make you a cup of Scripture tea and then apply it to your heart and mind. Things may be bad, but God is on the scene. He’s making something beautiful out of your mess. His promises are for you, beloved. His truth is written with you in mind. His arm is never too short and His hand is never held back. You are safe, you are redeemed, you are forgiven and you are destined for more than your present situation. Drink freely from the Lord’s loving Word and live in the Light of His glory and grace!

Psalm 46:10 Be still, and know that I am God!

Exodus 15:2 The LORD is my strength and song, And He has become my salvation; This is my God, and I will praise Him; My father’s God, and I will extol Him.

Psalm 27:1 The LORD is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The LORD is the defense of my life; Whom shall I dread?

Psalm 86:5 O Lord, you are so good, so ready to forgive, so full of unfailing love for all who ask for your help.

Romans 8:34 Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died–more than that, who was raised to life–is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.

(teacup is from www.dayspring.com)

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

