What Can Change in Five Minutes?

There’s a precious woman of God who does a special event on her blog every Friday. It’s called “five minute Friday”. Each week she posts a word and asks other bloggers to write about that word for five minutes. This week’s word was change. I could certainly relate for my entire life has been full of changes. But as I wrote I was amazed at how five minutes can truly have an impact on a person’s life. Just five minutes.
In five minutes, models can change outfits twice! In five minutes a mother can change a diaper on the run. In five minutes a fisherman can take a fish off a hook and change baits. I can remember loving those five minute phone calls from Danny when we were young. I still know about waiting for him to arrive home after a trip and every five minutes is agony when you’re waiting for the one you love. How about five minute timings on labor pains? By the time they’re five minutes apart you know you are getting closer to holding that bundle of joy in your waiting arms.
Then I remembered our motorcycle trip out west. We were with a great group of friends. We had come to an rv park near Albuquerque and were all looking forward to shedding the grime of the day in the shower house. Being from the south, we had never met up with tokens for showers. But here we were all given a token for a five minute clean up. That was the limit.
One friend about hyperventilated because he was absolutely positive that five minutes was not enough time to clean and preen. He was so beside himself that several others donated their five minute token to him. What he found out after having a full fifteen minutes to clean up was that it was more than enough time! He had feared that five minutes wouldn’t do it, but fifteen minutes was a long time for the event.
Lord if we had only five minutes with You, what would we want? What if we were limited, each and every one of us, to five minutes with You? Would we say “skip it, it’s not enough” or would we get frantic and think “I can’t think!”
Oh beloved, God says start with five minutes. He speaks to our hearts and He’s wooing you in love. Spend five minutes with Me. If all you have is five minutes, I can do a lot with what time I have with you. God desires your presence because He loves you. He desires your attention because He has love songs to speak into your heart. He wants more time with you but He will take five minutes for a start. I believe God is saying, “Give me five minutes and I will affect your heart so much that you will long for more.”
Father, I thank you that in five minutes I can sum up Your love for me and my love for You. A minute of praise, a minute of prayer, a brief moment to listen and two full minutes of thankfulness as I sit in Your presence. I know Lord that You promise to multiply our time so surely if I give you FIVE MINUTES, I will go away blessed, refreshed, and changed by Your love.
God loves you and He’s for you. Give Him five minutes and see. Cry out, “Change me Lord and I will be changed.” Speak quickly Lord, for there’s a knock at the door and another voice calling. Thank You for filling me with Your Change and giving me more than enough to share with those who don’t think there’s enough time to change a bit.
Colossians 1:6 This same Good News that came to you is going out all over the world. It is bearing fruit everywhere by changing lives, just as it changed your lives from the day you first heard and understood the truth about God’s wonderful grace.
2 Corinthians 3:18 So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord–who is the Spirit–makes us more and more like Him as we are changed into His glorious image.
Psalm 16:11 You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

