It’s Not Your Usual Who-Done-It

I like this if you are going to get married outside instead of a church, to still have the cross

Childhood memories can hold both blessings and dread. Remembering the things you enjoyed, the fun of family time, the holidays with extended relatives all make for sweet dreams. Of course there are times you did things as a child and you just hang your head. So did your parents. I remember hearing my parents say these phrases, “Who did this?” or “What happened here?”  Of course I was the only child at home so it was hard to blame it on anyone else.  I would try to squirm and wiggle away and change the subject, but there was nowhere to hide. Fortunately my parents were great forgivers. And their lessons in life weren’t too hard to bear.

The enemy wants to remind you and me that we made a mess. He comes to us with an accusing finger pointed from his accusing heart. “You did this!”  We feel so awful. We wallow in his accusations. We accept his rejecting tone and his condemning words. We hide from it all so that we don’t have to deal with it. He says you’ve gone too far, you’ve done too much, you can’t get back to God. It’s unforgiveable. Even when others do things to us, we often take the blame for it ourselves, wearing it like a thick suffocating blanket in the middle of summer.

The Lord comes into the room and He picks us up. “I saw” He says. He knows we did it. He knows we messed up. He sees the big picture and we cannot hide a thing from him. We’ve heard the enemy’s voice so long that we think we need to hide ourselves from God. But He holds us in love and says to us, Come to me. You are laboring and so heavy laden with the regrets, the condemnation, the loathing of yourself because you failed again.  He goes on to hold us in His arms and says, Look not at your mistakes. Look at Me. I AM your redeemer. I will teach you how to forget what I forgive. Learn to repent to Me. Learn to keep short accounts with Me because you love Me.  I will teach you to begin fresh each morning, for My mercies are new every single day. Lean on me and let me show you how to love yourself the way I love you, for My love for you endures forever.

Oh beloved, it’s okay. Give that mistake, that regret to God. Give them all to God. Place them at the Cross and give your heart to Christ fresh and anew. Forgiveness is forever. Redemption is renewable. You are meant to live your life loved and forgiven and renewed. God loves you and He’s for you so that you don’t have to listen to the enemy or follow his path to depression, criticism or fear.  

Romans 8:1 Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.

Romans 8:34 Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died–more than that, who was raised to life–is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. NIV

I John 2:1 My dear children, I am writing this to you so that you will not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an Advocate who pleads our case before the Father. He is Jesus Christ, the one who is truly righteous.

I John 1:9 If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

Lamentations 3:22-24 The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease.  Great is His faithfulness; His mercies begin afresh each morning.  I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance;    therefore, I will hope in Him!

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

