Talk to God and Run that Race with Faith!

851x315 Facebook Header

Driving home from an early morning trip to the store Danny and I watched a squirrel darting across the highway. He was caught between the truck coming our way and us on the other lane. He stopped in the center line and shook violently. Then with his tale waiving wildly he darted on across the highway, flying low.

As I spoke, “poor thing, he was shaking and he didn’t really seem to know what to do!” I thought of us humans. How many times we’ve been caught in the onslaught of oncoming traffic – troubles, worries, fears, anxieties. We struggle and shake with indecision and fear that we’re going to be run over or that we’ll make a wrong move. We don’t want to get completely run over by the thing weare facing and we know we have to make a move one way or another.  But even in the midst of it all we cry out to God, “Help!” “Which way Lord?”  “Are you there Father?”  We ask Him to calm our heart and speak peace over our situation.

I can tell you beyond the shadow of a doubt that God always answers. Prayers spoken in faith, requests made in the midst of fearfulness, prayers of hopeful wondering, they are all answered by the Lord of Heaven and Earth! Not one of the times I called out have I ever ended up beyond help. Sure there were times I thought I was flying blindly but that blurted out prayer during the racing of my heart and the shaking of my mind was still answered.

Oh beloved! He hears you. He knows your situation before you call out for help. He answers. He helps you. He makes the way clear for you. He guides you. He protects you. He watches over you. You don’t have to worry what you are facing, calamity, disease, persecution or more…He answers your prayers. You can quit wondering if He will for He wants to get you past the troubles and grow your faith! He wants you to believe Him so you can do valiantly and tread over all the enemies of your heart and mind. To be sure the enemy will accuse you of being wishy washy, fearful and unsure. He will speak disaster, disability and destruction over you. But God is greater than your worst enemy. You can shut the mouth of the enemy by hurling yourself into the Lord’s waiting arms.  Talk to God and ignore the enemy’s lies.

There is no God like Jehovah. And we are more than a mere squirrel who has to rely on his own wits to get him across the chasm and out of danger.  And God is compassionate and gracious. He takes every opportunity to teach us more about faith in His promises, in His mercy, and in His faithfulness. Each step into the highway teaches us that we are stronger than we realized, Jesus is closer than a breath, and we are cared for beyond imagination. Unlike the squirrels who are destined to repeat the same fearful runs all of their days, we grow more Christlike and more fearless as we see God carry us over and prove His reality to us every single time.

God loves you. God is for you. What else do you need to know? Run the race with faith and watch your enemy grow silent and your troubles fade out of focus as you live in the light of His Word!

Isaiah 65:24 I will answer them before they even call to Me. While they are still talking about their needs, I will go ahead and answer their prayers!

Romans 8:34 Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died–more than that, who was raised to life–is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. NIV

Psalm 31:22 In panic I cried out, “I am cut off from the LORD!” But You heard my cry for mercy and answered my call for help.

Lamentations 3:54-57 Waters flowed over my head; I said, “I am cut off!”  I called on Your name, O Lord, out of the lowest pit. You have heard my voice, “Do not hide Your ear from my prayer for relief, from my cry for help.”  You drew near when I called on You; You said, “Do not fear!”

Deuteronomy 4:7 For what great nation is there that has a god so near to it as is the Lord our God whenever we call on Him?

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

