Meltdown to Revival!

We bought the ice cream first. Walking around the huge

discount store, the next stop was all the Imageway to the other side. It wasn’t until we got home and tried to make cones that I realized the mistake. We had a melt down for sure. Fortunately the ice cream was only partially melted and could easily be rectified by a few minutes of freezer life. 

Unfortunately for me that wasn’t the only melt down of the day. As I let myself linger on something I was really dreading, I walked down the steps feeling rather undone. And as it happens so often when we’re stressed, something even more heinous happened! The dog threw up on my brand new shoes! Now I’m laughing, but at the time it was really the last straw. 

Can you relate? Do you have times when you don’t know what is going on. When you feel that you are so overwhelmed with circumstances that you just want to throw something, even if it’s just throwing in the towel? And then just as you feel you cannot go another step or take another thing, that last straw appears and you have a melt down.

Oh beloved, when this happens it’s time to run! Run into your Father God’s presence! There are some things about yourself that you have probably forgotten in the darkness of the troubles or sorrows or hurt or fear. He will remind you the truth about yourself. And when we’re struggling with something so rough that we’re having melt downs we need Him to remind us don’t we? 

Here’s a few of God’s reminders for you. First, you are not a failure because you had a melt down. Let God pick you up and dust you off and remind you that you are His beloved. He gives fresh starts to those who see their incredible need for help. Secondly, you are braver than you think. Sure it’s hard. Who wants to go through hard stuff, but precious one, you are certainly going through! You won’t have to stay in this state of anxiety. You need to know that in Christ you are going to be okay. You will make it. You will survive. You will live to dance down the steps another day instead of melting down them. Every day will not be a throw-up from the dog kinda day. Better days are ahead. You need to be reminded as well about Who you belong to. You have been adopted, permanently, into God’s own family and you are a joint heir with Jesus. How much more wonderful can it get? And finally, don’t ever forget that for every hard situation you have a balm in Gilead, an ointment of healing and that beloved, is God’s Word. Apply it daily. Apply it liberally. You will never have to buy it and you will never run out. 

God loves you and He’s for you and the benefit of that is that when you think you’re ready to have a melt down you can turn to Him and have a personal revival instead. He will take it all, beloved, and give you something to live for beyond your troubles, for you are a daughter (or son) of the Most High God!

Habakkuk 3:19 The Lord God is my Strength, my personal bravery, and my invincible army; He makes my feet like hinds’ feet and will make me to walk [not to stand still in terror, but to walk] and make [spiritual] progress upon my high places [of trouble, suffering, or responsibility]! Amp

Psalm 94:18 If I should say, “My foot has slipped,” Your lovingkindness, O 
LORD, will hold me up.

2 Thessalonians 3:13 And as for you, brethren, do not become weary or 
lose heart in doing right [but continue in well-doing without weakening]. Amp

I Corinthians 3:23 and you belong to Christ; and Christ belongs to God.

Psalm 119:105 Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

