Why Be in Despair?

Last night was a sleepover with our three youngest grandchildren. Popcorn was eaten and movies were watched. The two youngest fell asleep pretty quickly on pallets. The oldest wasn’t far behind. All was good. Then our middle boy woke up and began to cry. His popaw offered him a drink, a trip to the bathroom and something to eat. Nothing helped.  Our usually happy buddy and I went to lay down on a bed upstairs which didn’t help at all. I offered drink again. No no no. I offered scripture songs, a movie or cartoon and again no. Crying only got worse. We talked a little but the pain he felt kept welling up. Finally he said “I just want momma”. We talked about it and he got a little quieter but no laying down, no going back to sleep. You could say we had inconsolable differences.

Inconsolable differences. I’ve been there. Times when the hurt or pain of some situation would flood over me. Times when I thought my heart would surely break.  I knew God’s Word. I knew He wanted to console me. I knew He was interceding for me. But I was inconsolable. I just wanted what I wanted. Can you relate?

Finally his mother came and sat with him on the bed. He snuggled into her arms and got quiet. He wanted to go home. That’s all. The gut wrenching truth was he needed only one thing. He had a good time right up until he got upset. Then he was done for. We were not going to meet his needs, try as we might.

Aren’t we like that? Sometimes we just want what we want. Even when God says no. Even when He offers us something else. Even when we know that our road has taken a turn and He is leading us on. Friends offer encouragement, family offers love, work offers distraction. But we’re still upset with things as they are. Are we destined to be forever inconsolable?

Oh beloved, God is with you. He makes our destiny magnificent. He wants to take you into His arms of faith and console you. But you’re kicking and screaming and saying no no no. Yet for all your loud protests, your discussions with friends and your attempts at distraction, the problem remains. God speaks and He says “come to Me, you who are weary and carry heavy burdens.” You are laboring over this thing and you are so weighed down with the cares and the sorrows of the moment. I will give you rest. I will meet your needs. But you must let Me. I will not force you to submit to My loving care. I promise you that what you have gone through is not the end of the world, either spiritually or physically. If you will rest in My promises and breathe out a prayer of submission I will make all things new. I may not be able to say yes to what you want, but I will take you beyond your wants. I will show you that I AM all you need. Nothing else will do.

God loves you and He’s for you. You can trust Him to do the right thing on your behalf because He promised to never leave you or forsake you. You will rejoice again and see that right when you let Him console you is where you begin to heal. And where you are healed is where you are able to rejoice and live in the Light of His Word.

Matthew 11:28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy-laden and overburdened, and I will cause you to rest. [I will ease and relieve and refresh your souls.] Amplified

Psalm 42:5 Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him for the help of His presence.

Philippians 4:19 And my God will liberally supply (fill to the full) your every need according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus. Amplified

I Peter 5:7 Casting the whole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares about you watchfully.

Psalm 4:5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and trust in the Lord.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

