God Is Your Light

We started out for our weekend early. Having the next two days off from work we thought it would be a good idea to get part of the way to our destination. We did make it about 3 hours down the road but the sun began to set and we were in unfamiliar territory on two lane roads. We saw several deer at the edge of the road. We saw a huge rattlesnake stretched out on the pavement. Who knows what all was just out of the sight of our car lights?

What was beautiful countryside in the light was now just darkness. In the dark there’s no color, no beauty and no warnings ahead of time. You can’t see nearly as far ahead when the sun goes down. We traveled on a little further and finally pulled into a motel for the night. The first motel we pulled into had no vacancies! Finally we found a nice clean place to rest for the night. We settled in and talked about what the next day’s adventure of travel would be like. I just know that I didn’t like the dark roads and not being sure of where we would find rest for the night. At that moment I preferred the comfort and familiarity of home.

God speaks to my heart: Life is easy when the sun is shining and you know the territory. In life and in faith you have to face dark times and unfamiliar roads. Easy is okay. You can choose easy most of the time. But where you feel My presence most is when you are unsure of yourself, unsure of your surroundings and unsure of your abilities. The only thing you can be sure of when the sun sets beyond your vision is that I AM with you. The sun is still shining just beyond the horizon and you are safe in My presence no matter where the road leads you. I will give you My presence to light your way. I will give you My comfort to rest your weary mind and heart. I have already given you My truth to sustain you and to keep you on the road avoiding the wildlife and dangers along the way. There is much I need to show you about life and places I want to take you for My kingdom. But you’ll have to let Me lead. And you will have to trust Me. If you can trust Me, even in the dark, I will show forth My glory through you and your life will shine like the sun all through the night.

Oh beloved, morning will come again. You will see clearly what God is doing and where He is taking you. But trust is most secured before the dawn. God knows everything you have gone through and He knows you aren’t comfortable. But He is the very one who has taken you out of your comfort zone. You can let Him lead you through windy roads of despair and hilly darkness of discouragement. You’ll discover that you are growing braver, getting more confident and trusting God more as you live in faith and let Him be your Comforter. Jesus faced the darkness of the cross so that you can face the darkest moments with no fear. Quit looking for the dangers and start rejoicing in the Presence of the One Who will carry you and bless you and use you for His glory everywhere you go.

God loves you and because of that Love you can be sure He won’t send you where He cannot keep you. And He’s for you so you can be assured as well that though you may not even know where you are, He does and He is keeping you all the way. The sun will rise and you will be more than a conqueror because you stayed the course with the Father through your faith in Christ alone.

Psalm 18:28 You light a lamp for me. The Lord, my God, lights up my darkness.

Isaiah 45:3 And I will give you treasures hidden in the darkness— secret riches. I will do this so you may know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, the one who calls you by name.

Psalm 84:11-12 For the Lord God is our sun and our shield. He gives us grace and glory. The Lord will withhold no good thing from those who do what is right. O Lord of Heaven’s Armies, what joy for those who trust in You!

2 Corinthians 4:6 For God, who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, hath shined in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.

Isaiah 12:2 Behold, God is my salvation, I will trust and not be afraid; For the LORD GOD is my strength and song, And He has become my salvation.”

 

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

