Can’t Avoid the Potholes of Life

 

Danny has driven motorcycles everywhere and all over the country and try as we might to avoid all the potholes, occasionally we will hit one. We’ve never had serious issues because of one, either in our car or on the motorcycle, but I sure like to avoid them. That momentary instability makes me unsure every time! What ifs come flying into my mind. Will we stay upright? Will we have a blowout? Will we wreck? Are we going to survive it? Potholes can cause accidents but we’ve been fortunate. 

Potholes are everywhere. You cannot avoid them unless you stay home. But you can prepare yourself for them by making sure your tires and shocks are in good condition. Some potholes come up without any warning and they can be a source of concern. But you don’t quit traveling the roads because you might find a pothole along the way.

God speaks to my heart. Just as there are potholes on roads, life can have them as well. The momentary instability of the situation you find yourself in can cause you to lament having even gone for the ride. But I AM the Lord of the Trip of life. While you may not know where every pothole will be, I AM able to see them all. I will keep you in all your ways. Even though you may need to recover from a pothole of your faith, keep riding forward. There are smoother roads ahead and times of refreshing. The view is beautiful and as you keep going on with Me you will find that I will fix the situation, bless your destination and give you more abundant life than you’ve ever known. Fear of the unknown can keep you stranded on the roadside. But faith in Me will overcome your fears. Look at me and stay steadily in My will. Potholes become just another bump in the road when you give them to Me.

Oh beloved, if you’re like me you sometimes find yourself stopping and examining that pothole. Why did it happen? Who caused it? Where does this leave me? When will I be on the road again? These questions are God’s business. Your only choice is to step up and step out on faith. Will there be more troubles ahead? Maybe. But life with God as your guide and the Word as your reliability gives you great peace. Move on. Let God keep you moving forward in His will and with your faith. Nothing will ever wreck your life in Christ as long as you remember who is the Lord of the highway of life and who has your life in His hands.

God loves you and He’s for you. That’s true stability for all the rough roads, nasty potholes and life’s troubles you encounter in His plans for your life. You are safe in His arms and upright in His will all the way to heaven.

Proverbs 3:25-26 Do not be afraid of sudden fear nor of the onslaught of the wicked when it comes; for the Lord will be your confidence and will keep your foot from being caught.

Psalm 119:143 Trouble and anguish have come upon me, yet Your commandments are my delight.

Joshua 1:9 This is my command—be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

Psalm 20:1 May the Lord answer you in the day of trouble! May the name of the God of Jacob set you securely on high!

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can’t Avoid the Potholes of Life

  1. rebekahbeene says:

    I’m so sorry. I have a Friend who helps me find pictures and this one is out on the web. Not taken from a website. It has been removed. Thank you for pointing this out. No harm meant. Blessings to you.

    Like

    • Oh I see. Thanks for explaining. :- ) I use images I find on the web too… If I can, I at least credit the source, but sometimes that’s impossible, and I do use it anyway… Thanks for not taking this the wrong way, was just a bit surprised, that’s all. Glad you liked the picture though.

      Blessings! – M

      Like

Leave a Reply

