The Lord is Your Shepherd – You Have Everything That You Need

Image

The Lord is My Shepherd…

She called me to share that the gift I had given her meant so much to her. She’s going through treatment for a terrible illness. I had written Psalm 23 for a reference to her. She said she knew as soon as she opened the book that it was for her.

She told me that when she was told the diagnosis she was of course, afraid. After all her sister had died young with the same disease. But she went on to tell me that as she was sitting in that doctor’s office, the words of Psalm 23 came to her mind. She shared that as a child in the third grade they had to memorize the entire 23rd Psalm in school. Those were the days when the Word of God was revered everywhere you went. Anyway, she went on to tell me that in the first few weeks of the diagnosis and beginning treatment she had much fear. But she repeated the words of the Psalm over and over and over. Until one day she realized the fear was gone. She said “I still get anxious and concerned, but the fear is gone.” I said hallelujah into the phone and wiped tears from my eyes.

God speaks to my heart: The Word is My Truth. What I say I will do. Who I AM is where your hope lies. I dispel darkness, any darkness, that tries to come into your heart. I denounce the cold facts for the faithful hope of My Word. My love is so wrapped in My Word that fear has to flee.

God speaks again: I AM your Shepherd.  There is no other Shepherd. Not for you for you are my beloved. I care for you eternally. I care for you in this present time. Right now I AM caring for you. I will not allow the thief to come in and steal the hope and faith of my sheep. You are too precious to Me. Before you were born I knew you. I saw you being formed in your mother’s womb. You are mine and I AM the Lord your God, who keeps you and guides you and protects you all the days of your life.

A shepherd will tend, herd, feed, and guard his sheep day and night. Tending to their every need so that they are never in want; guiding them in the right direction away from the enemy.  The shepherd feeds his flock so they never grow hungry in spirit, mind or flesh. He is the champion and guardian of His own. He is the owner of the sheep, so unlike a hireling who might leave the sheep unattended – He never does.

Oh beloved, The Lord is indeed your Shepherd. God is not caught by surprise by the situation you find yourself in. Your Shepherd, the Lord of heaven and earth, never sleeps and is always ready to defend. You have nothing to worry about as long as you stay very close to God. Let other things go if you have to but don’t stray from His presence. He is Sovereign and that means He has a plan anyway. None of His plans are changed by your circumstances. Rejoice and let Him lead you on. Don’t let fear lead you into wrong thinking or bad decisions. God’s love and care keeps you safe in the fold throughout the years. Even if you walk through the valley of the shadow of death, His promise says you will fear no evil for He is with you.

You may have been wringing your hands, I understand. But it’s time to fold those wringing hands in prayer and lift those worried arms in praise. For God is with you. Search the Word of God for your present situation and repeat it until it slips past your mind and settles into your heart. You are indeed beloved, and you can trust the Lord to watch over you and give you peace no matter what. God loves you and He’s for you and that’s enough to get you through whatever comes you way knowing the Shepherd always stands watch over His own.

Psalm 23 The Lord is my Shepherd [to feed, guide, and shield me], I shall not lack. He makes me lie down in [fresh, tender] green pastures; He leads me beside the still and restful waters. He refreshes and restores my life; He leads me in the paths of righteousness [uprightness and right standing with Him—not for my earning it, but] for His name’s sake.  Yes, though I walk through the [deep, sunless] valley of the shadow of death, I will fear or dread no evil, for You are with me; Your rod [to protect] and Your staff [to guide], they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my [brimming] cup runs over. Surely goodness, mercy, and unfailing love shall follow me all the days of my life, and through the length of my days the house of the Lord [and His presence] shall be my dwelling place. (Amplified)

Isaiah 40:11 He will feed his flock like a shepherd. He will carry the lambs in His arms, holding them close to His heart. He will gently lead the mother sheep with their young.

About rebekahbeene

In a Women’s meeting in 1983, I went up for prayer and to see if God had “anything for me”. The woman of God who was praying for people spoke over my life. She said these words: “You will write books. You can go to the bank on it. Rivers of living water will flow from your belly…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

